Working with a Freelance Editor to Boost Your Writing Career

Holly Lyn Walrath
Write Weird
Published in
8 min readJan 1, 2019

--

Let’s face it, the book publishing world is different than it was 10 years ago. In 2017, roughly half of US print book sales came from Amazon. 7 out of the top 100 selling eBook authors in the US were indies. While publishing with a traditional publisher is still a common way authors get their books in the world, it’s also much more common these days for authors to publish their own books.

What does this mean for traditional publishers? It means they’re taking fewer risks on new authors and instead focusing on more established authors, or books that are more “commercial.” Agents and publishers are looking for authors with the whole package: a complete, edited manuscript with commercial potential, a detailed marketing plan, comp titles that show an awareness of the market, and the start of a promising online audience.

And indie publishing is tough too — the increase in popularity of indie books means there’s more competition for authors to put out a stellar product.

If you’re a new writer, you’re probably reading this with a bit of fear and anxiety. I’ll never be that good. I don’t know where to start with marketing. How can I build an audience if I haven’t even finished revising my book? And do I really have to spend money on an editor in order to get published?

--

--

Holly Lyn Walrath
Write Weird

I'm a writer, editor, publisher, and poet. I write about writing. Find me online at www.hlwalrath.com or on Twitter @HollyLynWalrath!