Is it Me, Or is Balancing a 9-to-5 and a Side Hustle Kind of Hard?

R. E. Essays
Write Yourself Free
2 min readJun 8, 2024
Photo by Marissa Grootes on Unsplash

Does anyone else find it super hard sometimes to accomplish anything outside of their day job?

Does anyone feel as if, between working and sleeping, there’s not enough time for everything else?

Or maybe I just need to manage my time better.

Although I do like my job and I get to work from home, for me, it seems to take up so much of my time and energy. Then, when I am off work, I want to just be doing the things that I want to do. I just want to relax and sleep.

So, now that I have embarked on this new endeavor here on Medium, I’m still trying to strike a balance. I want to get my side hustle off the ground, but I still have to work my day job and I still want to have fun.

And is it just me, or does it seem like time passes so much faster than it used to? Even though there’s still 24 hours in a day as always, lately the minutes seem more like seconds.

If I spend 8 hours in bed and 8 hours working, the next thing I know, it’s time to get ready for bed again so that I can start over the next day.

Now that I’ve been working diligently to get my freelance blogging/content creation side hustle going, the free time that I have to focus on other things in my life has shrunk a bit more.

Photo by Super Snapper on Unsplash

Don’t get me wrong though, I love to write. I also love the feeling of accomplishment that I get when I hit the “Publish” button on a post that I’ve worked hard on.

I try to allot at least a few hours each evening to writing my articles, and so far I think I’m doing an okay job staying consistent. I’m certainly not putting out a post every day, but I am still working hard during my free time to be able to produce at least 2 to 3 stories a week.

Although I haven’t been at it long yet, This is something I am determined to stick with. I am determined to grow and go places with my writing.

So, I will keep trying to find time in these short 24 hour days for all of the things that need my attention.

But I have to wonder, how do so many other people do it?

--

--

R. E. Essays
Write Yourself Free

Simplifying my path to being self employed doing what I love. Sharing my journey along with tips and ideas to help you do the same. earnsimple.substack.com