My First Week as an Amazon Seller, the Ups, Downs, and Insights

WriteOnline
WriteOnline
Published in
4 min readOct 31, 2023

--

Becoming an Amazon seller has been an exciting yet challenging journey for me. As a new seller, I quickly realised the importance of 5-star reviews, compelling content, and a solid PPC plan. However, I find myself caught in a catch-22 situation where I need reviews to get more reviews.

On top of that, I’ve encountered an unexpected hurdle with Amazon rejecting my video uploads for alleged copyright infringement without providing specific details. In this article, I will share my experiences as I seek support from Amazon, fellow sellers, and customers.

The Significance of 5-Star Reviews

From the beginning, I understood that positive reviews are crucial for success as an Amazon seller. They enhance the reputation of products sold on the platform, increase visibility, and build trust among potential customers. Unfortunately, acquiring reviews has proven to be challenging. In my first week, I secured only two through the Amazon Vine program, which cost a pretty penny, I’ll have you know. But at least the Amazon-appointed reviewers saw value in my products and awarded them a 5-star rating.

The Catch-22 Situation

--

--

WriteOnline
WriteOnline

Often found in far-flung places reading Walter Mosley with a rucksack on his back.