Ghana’s Lands Commission Fraud, Bribery, God, and Me

Navigating Corruption: A Personal Account of Land Registration and Bribery in Ghana’s Lands Commission

WriteOnline
WriteOnline

--

A striking silhouette of a man, bathed in warm hues of gold and black, gracefully stands against the backdrop of Ghana’s morning soil. The golden light casts an enchanting aura, highlighting his majestic presence amidst the serene ambience.
In the Shadows: Morning becomes electric.

I am meeting a gentleman from the Lands Commission to map and measure the exact area of land I’m registering with them. He has agreed to meet me at five on a Sunday morning in Madina to drive to the land in Aburi South. He has insisted on being back in time for Church by 7:30 am., which is laughable to me, given Ghanaian traffic even on a Sunday morning and the location of my land. Indeed, when we meet with a Madina sky still under the cloak of darkness–he’s already visibly upset that I’m fifteen minutes late.

You see, I went to the office of the Lands Commission some weeks ago to register two plots of land I had just bought, which is a compulsory requirement of Ghanaian Conveyancing Law. But it soon became apparent that the gentleman handling the case would do so through his private company. According to the receipt I insisted on getting after paying him over 1000% more than the land registration fee should be, the service is being provided by his private business rather than via the Lands Commission department.

He takes me to his four-wheel drive vehicle parked in the Commission’s courtyard and has me sit in the back, counting out the…

--

--

WriteOnline
WriteOnline

Often found in far-flung places reading Walter Mosley with a rucksack on his back.