How to Be a Writer 101

--

A series…

Photo by Zach Rowlandson on Unsplash

This is an introduction to a series on becoming a writer.

How to become a writer 101.

  1. How to become a writer 101.
  2. How to get published 101.
  3. How to make money writing 101.
  4. The most important thing to do 101.
  5. Exposure for your writing 101.
  6. Other projects 101.
  7. Passive income 101.

I think we're seeing a trend here. These stories in this series are all basic 101-level stories. It may well be stuff you already know. I may add to them after they have been published. I can learn new stuff too.

I'm a simple guy. These will be simple stories. I am not the type to vomit out all I know about a subject until your eyes glaze over. instead, I am the type to sit a day or two later and remember something I wish I had said.

Then I add or update.

So here's the deal. I will write one of these every few days. Every few more days, I may publish an update with links to all that have been completed at that time.

Eventually, we will have a complete seven-part series of the most basic and elementary look at the process of writing. I will try to share with you my experiences as I discovered them.

Who am I?

I have written a little since I was in school but never used that experience.

I spent a LARGE number of years working at other nonwriting-related jobs. Then a couple of my customers once asked if I could write down some of the stories that I had told them during my sales presentations.

So I did. In the age of Amazon, KDP, and self-publishing, I struck out primarily to write a book to increase my client base and sales income.

Then I needed a website. Then I couldn't afford Google ads, so I worked on SEO and additional content. Then another website, then another book.

Then I found Medium, enjoyed it, made some money, and was working more on writing than my other line of work.

Now, I am here.

I will complete these seven stories in seven days, plus or minus, and not necessarily consecutively. I will turn the list of stories into a linked table of contents as I go, and may even republish an update or two of this table of contents.

I will maximize it. I will do so to make it easier for you and me.

I would respectfully ask you to follow, subscribe to email delivery, and even join my storytelling club if you can. One or all. And please tell your buds, too, so they can join.

I encourage you to subscribe to my budding newsletter called “The Storyteller” which will give you regular insight into the extra content and outtakes of this area. The subscription will also give you two more important things you might not have now. 1) A copy of “A Year of Martin,” about 216 pages of stupidity, and 2) the ability to unsubscribe, and drop me like third period French.

I thank you again for your time, and I stand in continued amazement and gratitude.

I see you’re already smiling, so why not go ahead and join Don’s extra-content “STORY-TELLER” newsletter, coming with extra smiles and the book “A Year of Martin!

Become a MEDIUM Member and support Don!

--

--