A Trip To The Grand Canyon In Pandemic Times

How being in a pandemic affected the solo trip

Alfie Jane
Writers On The Run

--

Grand Canyon Western Rim. Photo by author

Being under quarantine for the past year put a lot on my mental health. I hadn’t had a solo trip since I came back from China. I knew I needed to get out and be somewhere I’d never seen before, but it’s hard to do when there’s a global pandemic raging around the country.

In April, I finally got my chance and booked a trip to Las Vegas. I needed a break from the long Michigan winter. I’d never been to the Southwest before, so I figured now or never.

The hotel offered paid tours of different landmarks around Vegas. One of those happened to be the Grand Canyon, so I bought a day-long excursion.

Now, we’re still in a global pandemic when this happened. My experience there is going to be different from the average experience. I still had a lot of fun, and I don’t feel like the restrictions negatively affected my trip at all.

The day of the Grand Canyon trip

Vegas had strict mask requirements, so I couldn’t leave my hotel room without a mask. If I forgot my mask or lost it, there were mask stands everywhere, and I could grab one for free. I didn’t see anyone walking around without a mask.

--

--