Travel

Grasse: Where I Noted That I Can’t Be A Fragrance Chemist

Grasse, in France, is the magic land of perfumes

Anu Anniah
Writers On The Run
Published in
8 min readJun 3, 2020

--

A perfect day at Grasse. Picture by Anu Anniah

A couple of years ago, I visited the beautiful sea town of Nice in France. France for some reason always conjures up images of well-dressed women and exotic perfumes. Oh, and romance in the air!

Having gone to Nice, and with my penchant for perfumes, it would have been a shame not to hop over to Grasse, the perfume capital of the world!

Perfume Addiction

I am a perfume addict. I love the smells and the bottles, and the whole experience of trying different perfumes in those huge perfume malls at airports. That’s where I linger the most. Which is more than I can say for most perfumes I wear. They don’t linger. Or maybe I haven’t found my unique scent yet! None of this stops me from hoarding perfumes.

I love perfumes so much that I’ve actually followed a perfume trail of someone at work, or sniffed the air and made weird comments like ‘XYZ was here some time ago’.

My friends know I like perfumes. So they have taken to giving me perfumes at the drop of a hat. Now I have a shelf full of unopened bottles…

--

--