TRAVEL

Lost in Translation

Discombobulated much?

Robin Klammer
Writers On The Run
Published in
8 min readAug 20, 2023

--

Photo courtesy of author

Adjusting to a whole new country left me at odds in ways I never expected. However, it also filled me with a sense of awe I had never experienced. Each one of us has their own idea of what would be our quintessential Hallelujah, I’m in heaven! For me, Turkey was a bit of both. Wait, they recently changed their name to Turikye, formerly known as Turkey. Cough cough.. Ahem

Moving along.

What was I expecting when we arrived to Alanya over a year ago? I’m not sure, but I was overwhelmed by my surroundings in a rapid onslaught of language barriers, customs and so much more. Both of which titillated my senses in no uncertain terms.

Photo by Thomas Oxford on Unsplash I have no idea why I’m drawn to pictures of Baboons, but I am.. lol

A fresh start was at the top of my bucket list. Let’s face it; the last few years. has been a bit of a clusterf*ck. The pandemic, however, was my undoing. Rarely, had I felt such hopelessness, rage and despair. This time, aside from a couple other moments in my life, brought me to my knees. I felt such a sense of barren solitude, and there seemed to be no life preserver in sight. It was merely a long dark tunnel of rumination and self-destruction.

--

--

Robin Klammer
Writers On The Run

Searching for my True North, Strong & Free... ehhhh?! Garden of Neuro sister & Queen of Snark! 👑