Do Vacation Hookups Ever Turn Into Relationships?

Sydel Brown
Writers On The Run
Published in
6 min readJul 15, 2019

--

Does lust on the beach translate into a full-on relationship?

Photo of a couple holding hands, standing underneath palm trees with fireworks going off behind them.
Will the fireworks continue after the vacation ends? Photo by Shifaaz shamoon on Unsplash

I’m probably an anomaly as far as someone who lives in a cold climate goes: I rarely vacation in hot places, and when I do, it’s off-season and not really hot when I go.

My northern soul doesn’t deal well with heat. I love the sun but it does bad things to me if I’m exposed to it for too long. So I stick with visiting cooler places.

But I’ve had so many friends visit tropical locales and tell me stories. Lots of stories. Stories of hot men and hot sex and one-night or one-week stands, all of which made me wonder if the combination of beaches, sun, sand, and likely alcohol made women lose their damned minds.

Add in the fact that they’re away from home and anyone who might know and/or judge them for hooking up is nowhere in sight, and I think I might be at least somewhat right.

I’m not Dr. Killjoy, though. If both people are into it, why not? Have at each other in the steamiest, seamiest ways! I won’t tell. Or at least I won’t name names.

But Do Vacation Hookups Ever Work Out?

Years ago, one friend came back from Dominican Republic with a boyfriend.

--

--

Sydel Brown
Writers On The Run

Writing about writing, sex, love, dating, relationships, and life with a twist of humor. Sometimes I bite. Can be NSFW. Buy me a coffee? Ko-fi.com/sydelbrown