Why $0.91 in my first month did not dissuade me from Medium

$0.91 in my first month did not change my love for writing

Udit Gupta
Writers’ Blokke
2 min readAug 8, 2020

--

Photo by Josh Appel on Unsplash

I have been writing on Medium for about a month now releasing a few stories every week. I started writing because I wanted to become a better writer and to share my stories with other people in the world. Earning money on top was just a bonus. I made $0.91 in my first month on Medium.

$0.91 isn’t much at all, but writing on Medium has been more enjoyable than I thought. Sharing my stories with people who have similar interests by reaching communities and publications with the same mindset and similar goals in life. I love the variety of publications and the topics that each publication focuses on. I’ve learnt a lot reading other people’s stories and personal lives and I hope to do the same. I hope to continue inspiring people and sharing my experiences and perspectives of this world. Writing my stories has also helped me to feel better about myself and the way I go about daily life.

Even if I continue to earn at this rate or lower for the foreseeable future, I will continue to write and publish new stories to inspire people. Writing on Medium has also helped me to become a better writer and better at understanding different writing styles. Most importantly, I have started to love writing and explaining my stories in writing rather than through my voice by speaking to someone. I have become a better writer and I think that it is crucial to be able to articulate thoughts well on paper.

As long as I can produce quality content and continue to inspire people, I’ll continue to write on Medium. With time and writing, my skills will also improve, and that will hopefully make my articles and stories more interesting.

--

--

Udit Gupta
Writers’ Blokke

Medical student | Future doctor | Writer for ILLUMINATION | Passionate about writing | I want to make the world a better place.