3 Hacks to master PRODUCTIVITY

I was Struggling with productivity, getting up and starting my day effectively. Now 3 graduations later I’m achieving my goals with ease.

Brien
Writers’ Blokke
3 min readJun 13, 2020

--

Like many students, my sleeping pattern was all over the place. Often up all night either continuously editing assignments or preparing for presentations the following day. My mornings would be a disaster, rushing frantically to be on time. This routine affects not only the tone of the day but my organisation, which directly ruins all productivity.

This all changed when I started my most recent Masters degree, by following these steps I have been able to avoid all-nighters and currently completing my final thesis stress-free.

There are a plethora of articles on morning routines. Some amazing, many not. Plus who wants to get up at 2:30 am like Mark Whalberg?, not me, I would rather sleep before a long day of work ahead.

Having tried and failed with many various techniques, I am now able to provide a list that has worked for me.

  1. Getting up 30 minutes early!
  • Rushing to the shower, brushing your teeth whilst frantically thinking about what bus or train I needed to catch was NOT an ideal start to the day. By waking up earlier than needed I am already in a calmer mood and can do some great things in the extra time. Examples;
  • Yoga, read, meditate. Do something that makes you feel good :)
  • Making time for MYSELF! self-care is essential for success.

2. Planning the day!

  • I Use a notebook/Notes on a laptop or phone for writing anything down.
  • To start I, create plans for the day. List 3 top things I want to achieve in the day.
  • Following this I list all appointments, lectures, meetings and any other extra activities, this way I can always look at my notes and understand where and when I need to be, during a busy day this can be a lifesaver.
  • Creating bigger goals for my future. A good example is S.M.A.R.T goals (specific, measurable, Achievable, Realistic, Time.). Here is a guide: https://www.mindtools.com/pages/article/smart-goals.htm

3. Eating & drinking smarter!

These were the 3 changes I made to my mornings, they are very simple but gave the best results out of all the changes I had previously tried. I hope this helps you and your productivity.

Thanks for reading,

Brien

--

--

Brien
Writers’ Blokke

PhD candidate, writing about productivity, health and life in London.