3 Mistakes I Did While Editing As A Beginner Writer

I have compiled the lessons in a FREE ebook so that it saves you time

Writer's Dream
Writers’ Blokke
2 min readJul 29, 2024

--

Photo by hannah grace on Unsplash

When I started writing, I felt good. Probably, that was the intrinsic motivation for me to write.

However, editing became a challenge in my writing journey.

Here are three major mistakes I made while editing articles. I am writing this so that you can avoid making those mistakes and create an article publishing faster.

Mistake #1: I tried to edit a 1000-word article in one go

I always gave up editing a long-form article.

  • It exhausted my creative energy
  • It demotivated me to write

So, I edited small portions of the content ( like 100–150 words) at a time.

It was much smoother.

Mistake #2: I tried editing while writing

It was my biggest mistake.

  • It distracted me from writing
  • I often forgot the writing ideas when I edited while writing

I started doing batch editing on weekends.

The editing journey became a lot more smooth.

Mistake #3: I did not learn from my mistakes

I repeated the editing mistakes.

  • I did not take notes of the basic editing errors
  • While writing an article, I did not consciously write to avoid the mistakes

When I write, I avoid common mistakes like passive voice usage, long sentences, repetitive words, etc.

I have learned the basics of self-editing.

I have compiled all the editing lessons I learned during my writing journey in a free ebook.

Click here to access the free resource to make your writing journey easier and fun.

--

--