4 Highly Practical Reminders for Any Creative Person

Enjoy making s**t again!

Rob Gibbs
Writers’ Blokke

--

Photo by Matthew Henry on Burst

Hello World!

A creator is someone who takes nothing and turns it into something. The art of creation can be arduous or spontaneous. Sometimes the muse comes to us and other times we must work for it, wrestle it from the very depths of our souls.

We do strange things to find inspiration. We establish routines. We make promises to ourselves. Some adventurous hipsters may even experiment with mind-altering drugs.

I once had a friend in my undergraduate workshop who would take a shot before beginning her work. Another would talk to his stories, literally asking each piece what it needed, where it wanted to go.

We do what we have to do. But the worst thing we can do is do nothing at all.

Art requires action. Creators produce. Which is ironic coming from me because recently I have been stuck in my own creative rut.

If you are anything like me, you have fragments of novels, short stories, poems, songs, pages of notes, etc.

But it was not until recently that I realized I needed a space in which I could create consistently. A creative playground where I can express myself, swing from one idea to the next, while also interacting with other…

--

--