5 Creative Writing Prompts to Slay Writer’s Block

Looking for inspiration? These creative prompts are jam-packed with it.

Nia Simone McLeod
Writers’ Blokke

--

Photo from Canva Pro / Edit by author

Creative writing prompts are a lifesaver. They give me a strong foundation to build a story from — so I can slap procrastination in its stupid, little face.

That’s why I include three creative writing prompts in each issue of my weekly newsletter. I know how beneficial they can be, especially when you’re knee-deep in a creative rut.

The following are five of my favorite creative writing prompts from my newsletter. I’ve provided questions along with questions to get the creative wheels turning.

1. Somehow, your character ended up on the music video set of Travis Scott’s “SICKO MODE”. How did they get there in the first place?

We all view fame and celebrities differently. This would be a great opportunity to explore your character’s connection to fame. What would your character do to become famous? Are they apathetic about celebrities?

Is there a celebrity that turns your character into a screaming, belligerent fan? Travis Scott could be replaced with any celebrity. Replace them with a celebrity your character loves to hate (or…

--

--

Nia Simone McLeod
Writers’ Blokke

Writer covering whatever piques my interest | she/her | Subscribe to my newsletter: https://ohwrite.substack.com/welcome