5 Lessons I’ve Learned Writing My First Novel

And how they can shed a light on your path as a writer.

César Alves
Writers’ Blokke

--

My first novel “Nevoeiro” is on its way to its seventh anniversary. At the time, aged 18, I sat at the computer with an idea and only rested when it was written, complete, and made into a story.

However, due to my tender age and the anxiety generated by wanting to have the book in my hand as soon as possible, I made some mistakes that, fortunately, generated important lessons.

A laptop, a smartphone, and a glass of whisky, while a writer faces the screen.
Image from Karolina Grabowska on Kaboompics

So, here are 5 lessons I learned in the process of writing my first book, hoping they can shed a light on your path as a writer.

  1. Ideas come from our daily life

There is a notion, to which I have given the name of “literary potential”, which is nothing more than a tool to discover the best form of an idea, to hold the attention of readers or viewers. “Nevoeiro” begins with an argument between two people, which leads to an uncontrolled riot in a train station after the first act of violence.

The truth is that I witnessed that argument. Only… there was no violence. That “twist” gave it the trigger to hold the reader’s attention and to unfold the story. So when we complain about lack of creativity or lack of ideas, we just have to look at our daily life and give it “a little…

--

--

César Alves
Writers’ Blokke

Portuguese Writer with +400 books sold — Writing on the Writing Craft, Philosophy & Society, Mental Health and Productivity.