5 Sneaky Ways That Writing Makes You Feel You Can Make A Living From It

I’m guilty of all of them

Glyn Bawden
Writers’ Blokke

--

Photo by Jon Butterworth on Unsplash

“I’m going to be a writer”

That was me. That was what I thought when I was younger.

And what was it that put that thought into my head?

It came initially from my English teacher, damn her, who commented on a story I wrote at school,

“You handle the dialogue well”

And another who read out my essay to the class and saying it was ‘like poetry’.

Well, thank you.

Because in my naivety and being the impressionable young teen I was, I actually believed that this was something I could take further and consider it as a means of making an income.

And essays at school or university are up there on my list at number one.

1. School or university essays

They have a lot to answer for. We all have to write them at some point with varying degrees of success. But I promise you, that if you got that slightest hint of encouragement, then you were hooked.

This was like telling a young footballer playing for the school team that they’ve got real promise.

--

--

Glyn Bawden
Writers’ Blokke

An ex-teacher, aspiring writer. Trying to be healthy but still loving wine. Love to travel.