8 Simple Tips to Write a Novel in a Month

Nia Simone McLeod
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
5 min readDec 1, 2020

--

Photo by Min An from Pexels

During November, I wrote over 65,000 words in one novel-length first draft. I not only met but exceeded the expectations of the writing challenge I participated in: NaNoWriMo. During NaNoWriMo, participants challenge themselves to write 50,000 words (a novel) in a month.

I have participated in NaNoWriMo events for almost a decade. I’ve only won two out of the ten events I got involved in. They’ve both been in the past year.

By changing my routine and mindset surrounding creativity, my success rate has shot up. Below, I’m sharing the tips I swear by to help you learn how to write a novel in a month.

1. Be realistic about your expectations.

Writing your first/discovery/vomit draft is like collecting clay from the Earth. You are amassing a raw material that’s overflowing with potential. With time and effort, you’ll eventually turn it into a beautiful vase, teacup, etc.

You can’t turn your story from an idea to a masterpiece in 30 days. Having a sense of realism minimizes your eventual frustration over the quality of your work.

The inner critic will scream at you throughout the month about all the reasons why your story…

--

--

Nia Simone McLeod
Writers’ Blokke

Writer covering whatever piques my interest | she/her | Subscribe to my newsletter: https://ohwrite.substack.com/welcome