A Lifetime Spent Alone

Lady Teabird
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
1 min readNov 28, 2021
Pieces by Lady Teabird

There’s no one in the world that I trust with an unfinished story
Let alone my own.
So I better prepare myself for a lifetime spent alone
Navel-gazing
Sprinkling ice-cream shavings on my tongue
Bubble-blowing
While my insides are toying

With the thought that I need not spend this time in the unknown.

Let them in, it says
Either that or belch into a tin
Hear the echo ring
Pretend that it’s a choir, sing
Unlace yourself
Be heartfelt
Defrost your heart
Don’t wake up with a start
They won’t hurt you
By God there’s worst things that could devastate you
Like not walking hand in hand with the man who’s out to place you (scream)
Get you (squeal)
Acknowledge you (dodge him)
Support you (shove him)
See you (hide)

Truly see you (gag)

And not run away once the full package is opened (faint).

--

--

Lady Teabird
Writers’ Blokke

Still trying to figure out where I am but I’m pretty sure I’m off by a continent, a few galaxies, and…yep, I just missed the last turn to nowhere.