A Tribute to Our Friends!

Syeda Rabia Batool Naqvi
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
4 min readAug 5, 2021
www.unsplash.com

Friends are like emotions; they intensify everything for you. They bring joy to everything, whether it’s boring or lame, but they don’t care. They are like the ultimate package that fills the minute delinquency, extracting the best possible from anything. And we all have friends, which make us laugh when it is difficult to smile, which make us utter things when it is even difficult to speak, they make us face the challenges when we are most afraid, and they make us believe in ourselves when the whole world is sceptical about us. Friends are the true assets, the gem that glamourizes you and your personality. The world was entirely encompassed by my friends, the memories of whom struck me at times, like a cold breeze that inspires you of life in a desert.

Sitting lonely in the early morning at the mess at my hostel, I am having breakfast, and suddenly, some of the mischievous guests collide with my consciousness, giving me flashes of the past, of the golden time, that had long gone. I remember the time when I never used to think before making any remarks, and I was like the free bird, which floats in the vast meadows of the sky, gliding with the gentle draft that used to smash with my body, singing along with me. I was besieged by my friends, who loved me and whom I loved. And how significant I was for them, for when we used to fight, we would exchange cards, and have conferences. We would apologize to each other, asking for forgiveness. And how small silly things changed, the small hearts with large spaces changed, and the small circles of friends changed. I studied at an Army school, and I was used to seeing changing people and I were used to losing friends. But all of them left a certain space in my heart, and how their stories correlated with mine, and my stories correlated with theirs and we forged our own stories with the existence of each other. Sipping that cup of tea, as I am getting late for my class, I am thinking about how I never wanted to lose them, but I had to move forward, and so did they. And at this moment, nothing else mattered in the world, except all those whom I have lost by the accelerated speed of time, my negligence, and the unspoken words for which I actioned my lips, but my tongue stopped me. If there was anything I ever can ask for, it was them, and the time we had. Now being tackled into the contemporary and serious problems of the contemporary and serious world of today, I am stuck here like you all are. The way we all are baffled in the cultural and financial problems, the different pressures of being the perfect body with perfect ethics, perfect education, and perfect salary, drove us crazy. And to me crazy is something that we are now, the extra sensible and sane.

I was always an extrovert who hid in an introverted body to conceal her complexities, and I found it an effective strategy to deal with my delinquencies. I had their weird and narrowed bubble of life, that protected me from social relations, from making any friends. But there were some, who knew to enter the bubble and break those strong walls, that were fastening me. Those were the friends that were just like the beauty who introduced the real version of the beast to him, and that bubble was the petals of the flower that were dropping down. I met these amazing friends, who made my life amazing, but I lost them because I didn't prioritize them in the need of career advancement. But, now it has been a custom of my life to recollect their memories. As I sit in the classroom laughing with my new friends, I play badminton in the gym, I go to the cafe, and I pass down the glamorizing streets full of life and light, I realize that despite having everything, I have nothing. I have no one that I can share something silly, or I can show the true me because those were only my dear friends that were there for me.

I have long realized now that people are more important than the developmental process. Hold onto those who care for you, who aspire to you, and who motivate you. Hold onto those who love you, before it’s too long. Say the words you want to. Express the emotions that you want to, and show the real you that you are. Those who will be yours will stay, and those who are not, won't. We don't love our childhood, we love the people that made it. Times don't matter, people do, who make it either amazing or worst.

--

--

Syeda Rabia Batool Naqvi
Writers’ Blokke

Ultimately, all we have is, a deteriorated brain with fresh memories, all jotted down on a rugged page…