A YouTuber Convinced Me to Write on Medium

My experience was very different from theirs

Julia Kramer
Writers’ Blokke

--

Photo Credit: Carlos Muza via Unsplash

When YouTuber Shelby Church did a video called “Making Money Online Writing for Medium… Is It Worth Your Time?” I was pretty intrigued. As someone who loves to write, I saw this as a fun hobby that also had the potential to make me money.

Shelby Church Photo via YouTube

Shelby is extremely transparent with her videos. However, being that she has an extremely large following on YouTube and other social media platforms, her success when trying out other money making avenues isn’t shocking. When writing on Medium for the first time she turned her successful YouTube videos into articles to see what kind of earning potential they had in written form. In summary: it was a good chunk of change.

In this video she also interviewed active Medium writers who gave more insight into how to make money on the platform. I watched this video months before I actually decided to make an account and write my first article. Going back and watching it now, everything makes a lot more sense.

The most interesting thing I’ve come to know about writing on Medium is that there is no one size fits all for earning…

--

--

Julia Kramer
Writers’ Blokke

MS in Criminology & Criminal Justice // Consumer of too much true crime for a girl with a panic disorder.