Are sunsets for real?

exploring the beauty of sunsets in life both literally and figuratively

Vidhita Kher
Writers’ Blokke
4 min readFeb 21, 2022

--

Sunset at Tiger Point, Mahabaleshwar, Lonavala, Pune, India

Sunrise and Sunsets are two significant parts of the day symbolizing the start and end of the day at work for most of us. In most organizations around the globe, follow the sun model is adhered to when the team span across different time zones to maintain spontaneity and responsiveness improving the overall efficiency and developer productivity. Growing up, I have always been fascinated by this phenomenon of nature and in this post, I want to talk more about this fascination of mine for sunsets and describe what meaning it holds for me both literally and figuratively.

Sunsets as a scientific phenomenon

According to science, sunsets are a beautiful optical illusion. During the dusk, we think that the sun is setting but in reality, it may already be below the horizon, because atmospheric refraction allows us to see the Sun around the curvature of the Earth. Several other aspects of sunsets are optical effects or illusions. The core of this illusion is formed from the concepts of optics such as light scattering, visual perception, etc. Therefore sunsets aren’t a real phenomenon scientifically but bring forth an alluring optical illusion to human eyes.

Sunset in IT Industry

In the realm of information technology, sunsets are a real thing whenever new technological advancements are made. Sunsetting of any software feature, server, or any service version, etc. implies removing it strategically phase-wise or discontinuing it. In both cases, the sunset of a particular technology or service is announced well in advance to its users so that they have sufficient lead time to prepare and plan for the change.

Sunsets in Life

Although sunrise signifies the start of a new day, new beginnings, and I have seen many people performing this yearly ritual of getting up early in the day on 1st January every year to witness and capture the first sunrise of the year but sunsets are more appealing to me personally because they signify that no matter what goes wrong today, there is always another chance, another day in the form of tomorrow to learn from today and improve upon.

Talking about sunsets in life, I’ve had many such phases both personally and professionally when I felt that this is going to be the dead end. But looking at the zeal with which the sun shines bright every day no matter what happened yesterday brings me a lot of hope and strength to keep going despite the curveball life throws at me from time to time.

Sunsets in Nature

I have always been fascinated by this phenomenon of nature which we happen to see almost every day. Being born in the Indian subcontinent I feel this is a blessing in disguise that we are able to soak in the sun for far more months than any other continent. I derive a lot of positive energy and enthusiasm from the sunlight delivered at my doorstep from the Sun God daily.

In the world of photography, the term “magic hour” signifies the period of daytime shortly after sunrise or before sunset, during which daylight is redder and softer than when the sun is higher in the sky also rightly known as the golden hour. I always make it a point to capture the sunsetting sky and its hues whenever and wherever I travel in different landscapes and treasure it for the rest of my life.

Sharing below a few pictures of sunsets that I have captured from my travel before covid pandemic times in India and in abroad. I’d like to call myself an amateur photographer yet thus do share your feedback for these pictures in the comments and let me know if you like them :)

Sunset captured from a hilltop in Pune, Maharashtra, India
Sunsetting beach view captured at Mahabalipuram, Tamil Nadu
Sunset captured while riding in a Ferris wheel in Vienna, Austria
Sunset view at the very famous Marine Drive in Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Making good use of the window seat in an airplane while waiting to fly at Jaipur International Airport, Rajasthan, India
Sunsetting hues from the Queen of Hills, Shimla, Himachal Pradesh, India

Conclusion -

I’m sure most of you all must have seen sunset literally and figuratively in your lives, so have I. Sunset makes me realize that it’s okay to make mistakes and learn from them. It could be a logical and time-boxed end to a particular situation or challenge but it’s not the end of the world necessarily. Therefore, in moments of redefining strength and to keep despair at bay, looking at these beautiful sunsets captured over time and from across the globe fills my heart with hope and smile. Because according to science, sunsets aren’t a real thing but for me, sunsets are beautiful and real.

--

--