Break Down

A Post Break Up Poem

Caitlin Rebecca
Writers’ Blokke
1 min readMar 20, 2021

--

I’m flying in again
To the home of my break down,
Going to shake down the system,
Address a few elephants in the room.

I never spoke about you,
Even though I heard your versions
Of my supposed desertion,
Of the words I never said.

After three years we built that trust,
I thought those moments were just for us,
But those things I thought were sacred
Are fodder for your gossip now.

What a surprise to find,
I was the villain of the story.
It’s getting a little boring
Just trying to hold my tongue.

The people who stay around you,
Are just waiting to betray you.
You laid down with dogs
Then got a shock when you got fleas.

I’m flying out in the morning,
And I don’t regret a moment,
All I can do is own it
And leave you far behind.

Photo by Margarita Zueva on Unsplash

--

--