Bro, Be Patient

Izwan Ishak
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
2 min readJan 27, 2021

--

… and what is that even mean?

Photo by Ashwini Chaudhary on Unsplash

The concept of Patience or Sabr (in Arabic) is certainly a noble concept. Allah says in the Quran:

“Indeed, Allah is with the patient” (2:153).

Without a doubt, we are called to practice Sabr in our daily life.

It’s easy to say to our brothers in faith “Bro, be patient” when our brothers are facing calamity in life. Before uttering such advice, do we really understand what is that even mean?

From my experience, Sabr is something more than a mere word of consoling myself. When things are not turning my way, I will speak to myself and said: “be patient”. Little did I know the word has a deeper meaning; it can only be felt once I have endured certain pain (for the lack of a better word) in life.

For me, Sabr is a feeling; something to be felt only when I am experiencing life itself. Life teaches me Sabr when I needed it the most.

An example, at the moment this article is written, I am unemployed. Being unemployed for more than a year now, and still searching for my next job teaches me about Sabr. It’s easier to say: “be patient” but the real test is to feel it deep within my heart that life itself is a test. To endure this test of life, Sabr is a feeling that must be observed dearly, without which I won’t be able to survive today.

To date, there were countless rejections on my job-seeking journey. I believe I am not the only one; other fellow job seekers are in the same boat. At this juncture, we, the job seekers have been diligently trying, praying and surrendering our faith in God / Universe / Higher Power.

In my case, there were 3 promising scenarios but Allah knows best. I am grateful Allah has, to date, with his mercy bestowed me with Sabr. I know now what Sabr really means. Being human, I do cry sometimes when I think I can’t endure another day. Crying does not mean I am weak or losing my patience, it’s just one of my coping mechanism in facing this life of mine. Allah has promised that HE will not put something on me more than what I can endure. Trusting Allah, I wipe my tears, meditate and move on with life.

I thank Allah for this journey. Now, I am proud to say I am enjoying the sweetness of Sabr. I don’t have a job offer yet, but Sabr is with me. With that, I may continue living. Ameen.

Thank you.

--

--

Izwan Ishak
Writers’ Blokke

| I write from the soul. Thriving towards personal development & positivity | #mentalhealthadvocate #mentalhealthawareness 📧 izwan1409@gmail.com