MOVIES. ENGLISH. RACISM.

Buzzard’s Guts and Tammany Hall Hucksters

With Abe Lincoln, Demi-God

Tooth Truth Roopa Vikesh
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
6 min readJan 31, 2021

--

Screenshot from Lincoln

My mother was always eager to leave a city the moment my dad was transferred to his new posts. She’d be on fire to vacate the house for the incoming railway engineer who was to relieve my dad. My mom and dad would be in such a hurry that when we reached the new place, we often cooled our heels in makeshift rest houses because the outgoing engineer’s wife there had never read Love is Eternal .

What’s Love is Eternal? It is a book by Irving Stone about Mary Todd, Abe Lincoln’s widow. She didn’t want to vacate the White House after her husband was shot. She kept weeping, and wanted to stay on, and had to be nudged out.

This was the book in my head when I selected Lincoln for play on my television. The acting in this movie is so complete, that you see not the actor, but the historical character.

Congress must never declare equal, those whom God created unequal.

says Representative Wood, speaking against the Thirteenth Amendment.

He is rebuffed by Representative Stevens, who says,

Slavery is the only insult to natural law, you fatuous nincompoop!

--

--

Tooth Truth Roopa Vikesh
Writers’ Blokke

I don’t just create smiles, I inspire them! Dentist, mom—Jamshedpur, India.