Can You Read Too Much Writing Advice?

Yes: I can confirm that this is a thing, and I’m doing it.

A. Elise
Writers’ Blokke

--

Photo by Lacie Slezak on Unsplash

Who among us doesn’t want to sharpen our writing skills?

As a newbie professional writer, I definitely do. And I’m willing to bet that most of the other people on this platform do, too. We all want to succeed here, and let’s be real: a lot of us want to make money while we’re at it.

The proliferation of writing advice from different people across this site is both awesome and extremely overwhelming. I’ve been bingeing on all sorts of advice articles recently, hungrily devouring information on how to write unique, compelling pieces with punchy titles, zippy headings, and beautiful prose packed with nuggets of life-changing wisdom.

I’m learning a ton. But I’m starting to notice a disturbing trend: the more time and energy I spend taking in advice, the more my creative output seems to slow down.

It’s an incredible thing, to be part of such a vibrant and active community of writers. It really is inspiring to be surrounded by so much wisdom and life experience. Sometimes all I want to do is just sit back and take it all in. I want to learn what other people know — people more experienced than I am. People who’ve been doing this for a lot longer.

--

--