My writing journey

Cracking the Medium Code

I think it’s me who is cracking instead after seeing my stats

James Jordan
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
3 min readJan 3, 2022

--

After three years of off-and-on writing on Medium, I still don’t have a clue what will play in Peoria.

I have read most of the how to become a millionaire on Medium stories. There is some good advice out there, and some bullshit too. I am surprised at the reaction to other people’s stories too.

Sometimes I think something is really good and has information that could actually help people, and it is ignored. Other times I throw some garbage against the wall and it gets thousands of views.

But why does one do well, and another not do well?

A good case in point is two of my stories in December. They were both Christmas-related stories, so they were timely. The response was the opposite of what I expected.

Dylan’s Christmas

--

--

James Jordan
Writers’ Blokke

Teller of tales, many of which are actually true. Award-winning journalist, and the William Allen White Award for reporting.