ADHD Meds are the Starting Point, Not the Cure

Learning life skills you missed is a crucial step

Traverse Davies
Writers’ Blokke

--

Image copyright the author — a pretty picture of a butterfly that took patience and focus to capture

Late Diagnosis

I was diagnosed with ADHD in my forties. I don’t think it was much of a shock to anyone who knew me, but it was still a long time coming. After 4 decades of struggle, of failing to quite fit, of not being able to do the sort of thing that leads to success in life, suddenly it was possible. When I take my medication I can sit down and work, I get interrupted and it’s not fatal. It changed my life completely… except it didn’t.

There were still things that weren’t working for me. I wasn’t able to get my life on track to the degree I expected. I was trying but for some reason, things weren’t coming together.

Maybe I didn’t have the answer, maybe there was something else going on.

Internal Executive

ADHD is considered an executive function disorder. Executive Function is a series of tasks inside your brain, all related to regulation, prioritization, and planning. With ADHD the brain doesn’t have the capacity to manage those tasks on its own. It becomes very, very difficult to manage life. There are tricks to make it work, but you have to rely on tricks because your brain won’t do those things… you need external aid. For…

--

--

Traverse Davies
Writers’ Blokke

I do survival, self-publishing consultation, and writing. Check out my blog: https://dreamtime.logic11.com