Do Women Prefer Situationships Over “Official” Relationships?

Been there done that and it’s a solid “Nope!”

Beth Byfield
Writers’ Blokke

--

Photo by Alvin Mahmudov on Unsplash

A quick Google search brings up conflicting headlines declaring that situationships are either a great thing or are the reason women are giving up on dating. I was shocked by the former claim!

I always understood the term “situationship” to be associated with the negative connotations of confusion, manipulation, and lack of communication and commitment, but the term seems to be morphing into a synonym for casual dating nowadays.

I got pulled into situationships two different times, I just didn’t recognize them for what they were for a few months. And after coming across this article, one experience was a “communicationship” because the man who started the messaging and texting never wanted to go out with me or talk to me in person, even though we went to the same church!

It was a very strange experience, and I let it drag out way too long.

I didn’t want casual. I didn’t want distance. I wanted to get to know someone who was mutually interested to see if there were the makings of a foundation for a relationship. It took me a while to figure out why these men drug things out, one by avoiding any semblance of anything other than surface talk and flirting through text…

--

--

Beth Byfield
Writers’ Blokke

Self-awareness and personal growth= better relationships. You have to know who you are before you can become who you want to be.