Embracing Imperfection In Your Writing

Imperfection is natural. You have to cope with it.

Vinod Kumar Kashyap
Writers’ Blokke
3 min readMay 19, 2024

--

Photo by Maja Erwinsdotter on Unsplash

When I started writing around 18 years ago, I never thought I would make it this far.

I had never thought that writing would become my first love.

But it fulfills my soul.

I faced my fair share of struggles, moments of self-doubt, and battles with perfectionism. But I persevered and want to encourage you to do the same.

“One of the basic rules of the universe is that nothing is perfect. Perfection simply doesn’t exist…..Without imperfection, neither you nor I would exist”
― Stephen Hawking

Eighteen years ago, I started writing blogs. As a software engineer, I started writing technical blogs. These blogs are nothing but the solutions to all my software problems.

Whatever problem I solved, I created a blog for that. It helped me collect my winnings. I remember never thinking that what I was writing should be perfect.

But I always want it to be helpful to readers. I never want it to be perfect. It’s an imperfect blog but full of value. For instance, I frequently create blogs many people read despite their imperfections. It shows that value can exist even in imperfect creations.

When you’re ready to embark on your writing journey, remember it’s not about perfection. Focus on making your writing clear and understandable to anyone.

Even the smallest piece of writing can hold immense value. So, start small, build your confidence, and let your words flow.

“Imperfection inspires invention, imagination, creativity. It stimulates. The more I feel imperfect, the more I feel alive.”
― Jhumpa Lahiri

Please do not kill yourself trying to make it perfect from every angle. You will slowly improve your writing day by day, but for that, you have to write consistently.

As an introvert, I love to write. Writing allows me to express my emotions fully. If you talk less but want to convey a lot, nothing’s better than writing.

Start by writing small posts on social media. Nowadays, there are multiple platforms where you can start writing anything from micro to full blogs. Refrain from thinking about what people will think about your writing.

Write consistently — do not skip any days. When you are comfortable writing daily, you can increase the word count of your blogs.

Starting small, like with a few sentences or a paragraph, can help you overcome the fear of starting and build your writing habit. It’s about progress, not perfection.

“To accomplish the perfect perfection, a little imperfection helps.”
― Dejan Stojanovic

From a small post of 50 words to a blog of 500 words is an outstanding achievement. But for that, you have to start. Do not think that you are imperfect. Everyone is imperfect.

You will only be perfect by writing daily — practicing and making your brain muse to write. Do not stop until you are comfortable writing on anything. You can start by writing about things that you like.

Create daily small posts on social media. Then, pick out some instances of your life that are funny and emotional and some that taught you something. Create posts about them.

Create full blogs out of incidents. Gradually, you will become the person you want to become. Start writing from now on and see what it brings to your life.

“Accept yourself irrespective of your imperfection and express your skills.”
― Israelmore Ayivor

Imperfection is natural. You have to cope with it. As humans, we tend to make mistakes. We have to learn from them. Only then can you convert your imperfections to perfection.

This process involves understanding your mistakes, learning from them, and using that knowledge to improve your writing. It’s a continuous journey, and it’s what makes us better writers.

--

--

Vinod Kumar Kashyap
Writers’ Blokke

Digital Writer & Storyteller | Bringing Visions to Life Through Premium Ghostwriting​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​