Everyone has a limited time quota: use it or lose it forever

You can’t get additional time

SURYASH KUMAR
Writers’ Blokke
2 min readSep 4, 2023

--

Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

Time flies, and it’s not going to stop for anyone; I heard this in a movie:

“no amount of money can buy you a second.”

Perhaps you can earn more money but can’t get more time. Once you squander time, you can never get it back, and the total time you have always keeps getting less; there is no addition or extras.

40 years: is it?

Let’s say, I am gonna die at 40, so the total time I have will be equivalent to 40 years; In a non-leap year, we have 8760 hours, so the math is

8760x 40= 350,400 hours. I have got 350,400 hours.

And assuming I realise it when I am 30, it means I have just got 10 years or 87600 hours.

Now, if I squander three hours today, I may get a full 24 hours tomorrow to use it or squander it, but those 3 hours will be deducted from the total number of hours I have, and the total number of hours will not change: it will remain 350, 400 hours.

So, if we put the dialogue, no amount of money can buy you a second, into perspective, it makes sense. You can earn more money, but nothing you do will get you more time.

Whether you think of doing but never do it or keep postponing it, thinking there’s always a tomorrow; in a way, you are right, you have tomorrow, but it’s eating into your total time that you have got, and you can’t buy more time;

So use your time judiciously, and before you squander time, just remind yourself that lost time is never found.

House building

Imagine you have to build a house, and you get 100$ every day to build it, but the catch is the total amount you have is 1000$, so after the 10th day, you will not be getting 100$.

And you can build a good house for 100$, so you would want to get it right the first time or make sure you do your best to get it right the first time because each time you use another 100$, you are dipping into your total amount of 1000$, and that’s not getting replenished, is it?

Whatever you wanna do, do it, but remember that moment will never come again, so be totally immersed, and do your work wholeheartedly so that you know you have made the best use of the time that you have because you will not be getting additional hours to make up for the lost time.

So what do you think? Is time more precious than money, or does it sound absurd to you?

--

--

SURYASH KUMAR
Writers’ Blokke

I share my perspective through my writing to which you may disagree. You can contact me at coolsuryash@gmail.com