First Month and a Half of Living on My Own…..sorta.

What I’ve learnt so far.

Nerissa Talique
Writers’ Blokke

--

Picture of the Lights of Downtown Edmonton, taken by Summer Scott.

On March 30th I moved out of the home of a relative to live on my own with two roommates, who were complete strangers to me. Here’s how it’s going so far.

The Freedom Of Being Free:

I packed my bags that Thursday night after coming home from work. There was a sense of joy, happiness and anxiety all mixed into one. I woke up early that Friday, way before the scheduled time that I organized with my friend to pick me and my stuff up. I only had my two suitcases, a couple of bags and two plants that I had bought the week before. We were done in two trips.

Saying goodbye to my relative was an awkward experience. Through the entire process of me finding another place she was snarky, rude and generally apathetic even when she tried to help. So when she took back the keys to her house, gave me the second set of sheets I was using while I was there and loaded them into a shopping bag, the only thing I could do was give a small wobbly smile and walk out of the apartment building with an immediate sense of relief and lightness. I was tempted to flip the place the bird. That apartment had been a place of constant anxiety, fear and stress, and finally being able to leave it behind, to leave my relative behind if only temporarily was completely elating…

--

--

Nerissa Talique
Writers’ Blokke

A young woman with a wide ranging love for all things literature and nature so much so I dream of being both a Biologist and a Novelist.