Freelance Writers, It’s Time to Pick Your Writing Niche

And how many niches are too many?

Eglė Račkauskaitė
Writers’ Blokke
5 min readAug 12, 2020

--

Photo by Caleb Jones on Unsplash

Most new writers take on every opportunity that comes their way. The competition is fierce, and you have to be grateful to earn a living wage.

I was in the same position, I used to write for tech companies, manufacturing businesses, jewelry stores, and music production house. I wrote everything from white papers to social media posts.

Now, as I finally settled down, I rarely do work out of my niche, but I kept a few options open. My two main topics are femtech and freelancing, and sometimes I also write content for SaaS companies. But after I settled, I understood the importance of having a specific niche.

Why is a niche so important?

It gives you a goal and direction

I remember applying to every new job posting and trying my best to find a portfolio piece to match the requirements. Each time, no matter how small the task was, I had to do plenty of research to understand the topic and the specifics of a job.

I wasn’t making much, and yet I was working full-time. But I don’t blame my former clients for not paying me a lot. I wouldn’t pay much to someone who tries every writing opportunity just for the money.

Having a niche narrows your search field, but at the same time, it helps you find targeted companies. You don’t have to go through countless job postings and respond to each one of them.

You can start pitching directly to the right clients, increasing your chances of landing a job. You don’t have to dig for similar portfolio pieces to prove your application because all your portfolio pieces match the job.

You can focus on learning

Jack of all trades isn’t a trait, it’s rather a flaw. Just by being a writer, it doesn’t make you omniscient. But when you find your desired path, you can invest your time in learning about the subject, creating a portfolio, and promoting tailored content.

Niche writers earn more because well-paying clients want to hire experts who understand the targeted audience and the product. They want someone who can already deliver insights without being generic.

And niche writers can deliver because instead of chasing every job opportunity, they spend that time learning about one topic.

When you build a strong portfolio on a specific topic, you can show your credibility and increase rates. Companies know that a knowledgable writer can find exciting insights and earn them money by delivering content crafted to the point.

It’s easier to find clients

If you’re a sportswriter, you aren’t going to waste your time on job boards looking for fashion writing gigs. You will find related companies, blogs, influencers, coaches, and offer them your services.

It’s easier to get a job as you’re the only one contacting the company.

There are so many people willing to write about everything for pennies. But if a client wants to promote content that brings value, they will search for an expert who can create that value.

You produce better work

I don’t have a degree in a tech field or gynecology, but I genuinely interested in those topics, that I’m eager to learn about them each day. I follow blogs and media outlets that write about these topics, and I keep researching new insights and industry trends.

If you’re interested in what you do, it will be a pleasure to learn about it and master it. Of course, you might need technical knowledge to write some content. But don’t forget that you have the advantage of being a natural storyteller who can turn those technical terms into an easy read.

How many niches are too many?

It depends on how much time and interest you have. I have two major niches. They are quite different, but that’s how I don’t get bored. It keeps me engaged, yet it’s not too much to handle. I would even suggest having at least two niches. It gives more opportunities and keeps you inspired.

Writing about the same thing day after day might give you a writer’s fatigue.

But it’s a slippery slope because, after the second niche, you might want to add the third one, and then the fourth one… You might be curious about many topics, but it doesn’t mean you should write about them. Of course, if those niches are very similar, it might complement each other.

But if you write about construction, dog care, beauty products, and interior design, soon you will fall back to where you started.

So, how do you find your niche?

Find what you love

It sounds easy, but it took me more than a year to find what I loved. I’m interested in many things, and I jumped from one topic to the other, only to get bored and stagnated.

My advice would be just to try. If you already have multiple clients from different fields, examine how it makes you feel. Try to notice which topics come out naturally, and which ones bore you to death.

Sometimes your true calling might be closer than you think, for instance, in your reading list. As a writer, you probably read at least one or two blogs or publications. What are they about? Is it programming? Or perhaps fashion. If you willingly consume content on a topic, maybe you can also write about it.

Determine your knowledge and resources

When you have a topic list, ask yourself: is it something that you can write about, or are you using it for leisure?

Ask yourself what do you know about the issue. Can you add some insights and find a unique angle? Are you willing to dig deeper and educate yourself?

Then see what qualifications are usually required for those topics. Some topics are particular, and they need a certain degree. But perhaps you can compensate it with online courses, books, and material online.

And last but not least…

Can you earn money?

It’s beautiful to follow your passion, but you can’t follow it for too long if it doesn’t earn you money. While I believe that regardless of the niche, you can earn money, some are more difficult than others.

For instance, the lifestyle category is quite jammed. You can earn money, but you have to invest more time learning about it and standing out. There’s a great demand for fintech writer, but again, you need specific knowledge about the topic.

The big question here is how much are you willing to invest in your passion for turning it into a job.

Writing about something that you enjoy is a gift. It’s also a privilege to call yourself an expert. Everyone wants to hire an expert, not some much a jack of all trades. I believe that if you work hard towards something you want, you can achieve it. No one says it’s going to be easy, but it’s definitely worth trying.

--

--

Eglė Račkauskaitė
Writers’ Blokke

Living my best life in the Canary Islands | Freelance writer passionate about FemTech and freelancing.