Help! I’ve Fallen and I Can’t Get Up

If people were honest, it’s often “I’ve fallen and I won’t get up.”

Brian Tubbs
Writers’ Blokke

--

When I was a teenager, I remember the popular LifeAlert television commercial featuring the line: “I’ve fallen and I can’t get up.”

Over the years, there have been quite a few jokes, parodies, and memes based on that famous catchphrase.

The phrase usually applies to those who need physical assistance. They’ve literally fallen and they can’t get up without help. With this article, I want to apply the principle to a different kind of fall — the kind of emotional or spiritual fall that people have when life itself seems to knock them down.

We’ve all experienced times when, due to circumstances, other people, or perhaps ourselves, our lives have crashed. We get tripped up and perhaps feel like we’ve crashed.

It could be a health crisis, divorce, a job loss, bankruptcy, the loss of a loved one, a major setback in our careers, trouble in school, running afoul of the law, or a host of similar examples.

When our lives go off the rails, we often find ourselves in a situation where we need help. We simply cannot get back on track without some person, maybe a group of persons, helping us out.

--

--