Hey Earth, wanna stop snowing?

Merritt J. L.
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
2 min readFeb 20, 2021

--

And a little about the Clubhouse app.

Alright, so I had a great idea for an opening line to this post but it escaped me so I’ve made the executive decision to go with this one. Also, my cats are looking at me with angry lil faces so I know I don’t have long.

Today I’ve managed to put another 1,000 words into my book. I’m hoping to squeeze out another 500 words before I go to bed in two-ish hours. I might even hit another 1,000 words ’cause mama ain't raise no quitter.

I’ve got several different titles in mind, all of which have turned out to be either videogames or obscure indie films. I’ll probably just pick the least cringiest title and hope that it outranks all the other artistic contributions to society listed on Google.

If you’re wondering why I haven’t written about my fiancée recently, it’s because I haven’t seen or heard from her in forever because she’s fallen in love with an app called Clubhouse.

Hey Joe, what’s Clubhouse?

Oh wow, haha I’m glad you asked. According to my advanced research, it is as follows:

Clubhouse is an invitation-only audio-chat social networking app launched in 2020 by software developers Alpha Exploration Co.

- Wikipedia

Wow, that’s super cool (a little douchey). Super cool :) From what I’ve seen (not with my phone, I’m a lowly Samsung user,) the app itself is clearly well-made. It does a great job in heavily encouraging users to keep professional profiles or to at least be presentable at a respectable level. Good quality photos, excellent voice chat quality, and simple/approachable controls.

But what separates this app apart is its potential. Sign onto the app, join a group chat (I believe they call it something else, but all of this I’ve observed solely by peering over my partner’s shoulder) that has an A-level celebrity or equivalent businessman/woman, then speak! That’s it. Just talk with the most successful people in your field. I’d imagine the potential for this to not last beyond the initial opening phase. Since this is at such a limited release, not everyone can join. Once everyone joins, then it becomes all about damage control.

It seems like the perfect app for podcast enthusiasts who extroverted in social settings. Or for anyone needing to scratch that social itch.

Anyways, that’s all that’s going on. I currently hit 18k words and I’ll be sure to keep you guys updated.

Ciao.

--

--