How A Letter To My Dead Boyfriend Traumatized Me

A simple letter turned into several calls, with me explaining that Phillip was dead and couldn't pay a debt.

Chrissie Massey
Writers’ Blokke

--

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Phillip died on July 20, 2018, after a fatal asthma attack. He was only 45. It is one of those events in my life that traumatized me. There is nothing more life-changing than seeing someone you love die suddenly.

On that Saturday, he admitted he wasn't feeling well. He was tired and felt rundown. But the man worked 60 hours a week, so we thought it was normal. He woke up from a nap in a full-blown asthma attack. I called 9–1–1, but they took 17 minutes to arrive. He was gone before they arrived.

Phillip's Death Was Hard

The last moments we shared, he told me he loved me as he struggled to catch his breath. I could tell he was scared. Truth be told, so was I. Suddenly, he let go of my hand and collapsed. This was the moment I believe he left this world.

I had never seen him this bad off. I still believed once EMS arrived, they would help him. But that's not what happened.

After working on him for 45 minutes, they told me the bad news. There was nothing they could do. He was gone.

--

--

Chrissie Massey
Writers’ Blokke

Spent my adult life writing online for many publications — both online & print. Now, I’m finding my voice, and sharing it with the world. she/her