How Did Practical Mental Strength Save My Writing Career?

Thinking muscle yields a compounding effect for career success:

Shamaz Abraham
Writers’ Blokke
3 min readApr 10, 2022

--

I struggled to become a writer for a very long time. I told everyone about it. Deep down, I feel less to become one. I require confidence through some challenges.

I study writing through various books like Elements of Style and Stephen King on writing. Nothing works for me but my willpower to develop writing habits.

Yes, everyone can develop a habit with basic realistic standards. My goal as a writer is to challenge myself to enjoy the flow of the process. Our comparisons, perfectionism, greed and quick hope loss hurt your creativity.

Resource: Pixabay created by LeandroDeCarvalho

That’s why every creative person develops their own standards for work.

Writing 500 to 800 words every day on Quora for 3 Months straight encourages you to at least call yourself a writer. No doubt, my 3 Month writing challenge has a lot of flaws. I at least take responsibility for my writing process. I lose several times but give myself change for work again.

If you take responsibility for your career success, the momentum of bad days never happens.

I summarize the qualities of a mentally strong person below:

An Emotionally strong person has the mental toughness to face difficult situations. He works on his thinking muscles and belief systems. He checks the thought process by asking the right questions. Choose effort over talent and stay with purpose in failure. He defines his mental stamina goals and turns them into a habit. That person faces an unhealthy ego, thinks long term and works along with emotions. The 100% failure for purpose is Ok for him.

You can observe the stamina of your thinking muscle. It is possible when you see your reaction in tough times.

If you lose your intentions and hope during a hard time, you’re not strong in emotions.

It is an approach with a problem-solving mindset, not creating a problem mentality.

If the problem arises, you do a lot to cope with it. It doesn’t show that you’re mentally strong. A problem comes in life. We’re already the ability to cope with it. So, we fight with it with ease.

It is the ability to make every worse problem easy for you. Most people make a simple problem worse in their minds. It is not about assuming problems.

Apply thinking muscle for 20% that yields 80% results [80/20 rule]:

You require a specific time to master the skill of your creative process. The best way is to think and perform the 80% that maximizes your effort for that time. Ignore the extra touches.

I develop writing as my priority and learning social media as a second priority.

As time passes, I immerse myself into the writing and ignore the social media. Soon I choose to stick with writing and explore more about writing types like fiction or nonfiction.

Every time you dive into the niche, you get a range to follow.

Your consistent specification opens up new possibilities for the particular process. Apply 80/20 rule is not about management. I apply it in my root life to save my precious time for junk activities.

--

--

Shamaz Abraham
Writers’ Blokke

Technical writer with interest in latest tech and social issues. Read unlimited on the medium by supporting me; https://bit.ly/36neWEK