How I Got My First Freelance Writing Client

Freelancing is where the big bucks lie, but with any job, getting the first job is the hardest. Here's how I got my first freelance writing client and how you can do exactly what I did and get your first freelance client.

Aziz Patrawala
Writers’ Blokke
2 min readNov 10, 2021

--

Photo by krakenimages on Unsplash

It all started yesterday afternoon when I was on my PC, I was browsing this new company website. It intrigued me as what they were doing was cool and new, eager to learn more about them I headed over to their blog which they linked to their website. To my surprise, they had no blog posts! That's when it happened, a genius idea came to me. I thought to myself, “ I am a writer and a good one, why don't I ask them if they are looking for writers, and if they say they are, I can pitch myself to them.”

Immediately my heart rate raced, I was not prepared for this at all, the thought of freelance writing was so new to me, but I went with my gut and started talking to the company on Twitter. I didn't have a website or portfolio created so I picked a couple of my best articles and sent them along with my Medium profile link to the company. Evidently, they liked what they saw as we then laid out the terms, price, and the number of articles and that was it! I had acquired my first freelance writing client.

Summary

To get freelancing clients you just need to put yourself out there and knock on as many doors as you can, and tell the company why they need you, not why you need them.

(in the steps I laid out on what I did to get my client, it may appear that there is more to it, but there honestly isn't.)

Cheers!

Thanks for reading my article, I hope you found it helpful and enjoyed reading it, if you did be sure to give the article a clap and follow me as doing so helps me grow as a writer and share my work with more people which in return helps more people become better writers!

--

--

Aziz Patrawala
Writers’ Blokke

Empowering you to have success, but also happiness and fulfillment