How I Unleashed My Boss Babe Mode to Land My First Freelance Client

It was not through Upwork or LinkedIn.

Aloha Zen
Writers’ Blokke
5 min readFeb 14, 2022

--

Woman sitting on a red couch arms wide open to the sides and legs crossed looking confident.
Photo by Mateus Campos Felipe on Unsplash

I’m the type of person who would always find a way to reach her goal.

The moment I set my mind on something, you can be sure that it will happen sooner or later.

Within my first year of working, tasting the sweet and sour air of adulthood, I decided that I didn’t like the rigidity of an office job. I didn’t dislike the job per se. It was just the lack of flexibility that was hindering my inner child.

There must be another way.

It didn’t occur to me that I could be a freelancer or “my own boss” until my third job at a digital marketing agency.

From My Boss to My First Freelance Client

I was honing my skill as a copywriter.

I enjoyed learning the ins and outs of audience targeting, persona building, and communicating with people without meeting them face-to-face.

An introvert’s dream job.

However, months passed and I got tired of writing about the same thing for the same types of clients — F&B, skincare, property.

I wanted my work to be more meaningful than that.

Nearing the one-year mark at said company, I decided to resign but with a twist.

Here’s what I wrote in my resignation letter.

Dear Sir,

Please accept this email as my formal resignation from my position as Copywriter at XYZ Agency effective two months (60 days) from today’s date as per company’s policy.

However, I would still like to work for your agency on a freelance project basis.

I propose to continue my current responsibilities as below:
- Article writing
- Social media copywriting

It would be an honor to continue growing with the company albeit remotely. I understand that I would not be subjected to the company’s benefits and/or existing terms.

In this case, we shall set our agreed terms and rates. As I am already familiar with the operating procedures placed in XYZ Agency, I foresee this potential transition would not affect the existing work flow.

If my proposal is agreeable, or the company may have any other suggestion, I would be happy to discuss further.

If, however, my proposal is not agreeable, then please accept this as my resignation as a full-time employee.

Thank you.

Regards,
Diyana

Yes, I was ballsy.

But I was definitely within reason.

A little bit more context — I had been the only copywriter in the company.

It’s not a big agency. Plus, their business seemed to be slowing down at that time. So I knew that it would take them some time to gather resources and search for a new copywriter.

It was then or never. It was time to start my freelance journey.

I took the golden opportunity and made a deal.

Tips for Freelancers to Get a Client

I know that my experience is unique but the tactic can be applied to any freelancer looking for a new client or project. The following is a basic guideline for you to get started.

1. Know exactly what you want

When I sent in my resignation email, I had a goal and I knew what I was asking. If you’re sending a pitch or an email to a potential client whom you want to work with, you have to know what you’re asking for. Tell them what exactly you can do for them so you may add value to their company.

2. Show proof of skill

Telling is one thing, but showing is another. Because I had been with the agency for a year, they knew that I was skillful and reliable. So they didn’t have any cause to reject my offer. Plus, they wouldn’t be spending the employee tax on me as a freelancer. If you’re approaching a completely new client, you have to show them your portfolio so they know that you can do the job. You can go above and beyond by suggesting ideas or what the company can improve on and show a sample.

3. Communicate well

Be assertive but not aggressive. People don’t like people who are rude so be sure to craft the email well. Communicate your intentions clearly. Answer the what, why, how, and when questions. Always keep in mind how you can help the client as much as or even more than yourself.

4. Surrender to chance

Once you’ve sent the email indicating your intention to work as a freelancer for a potential client, your job’s done. Now the ball is in their court and the outcome is not within your control. You’ve done all you could and it’s just a matter of surrendering to Luck, the Universe, or God.

Freelancing Forces You To Be Confident

I used to be the kind of person who couldn’t even pick up the phone to call a client on behalf of a company. Now, calling a client on behalf of myself is no big deal.

It does take some practice but you’ll get there eventually.

What I would like you to take away from my freelancing experience is that…

Confidence comes from knowing what you truly want and then putting the plan into action.

The more you do it, the more normal and easier it becomes.

Once you get comfortable with asking for what you want and show proof of your skills, you can assert the deal you deserve. Honor your gut instincts and trust the process. No one else is going to find a project for you. You have to sell your skill to get what you want.

If you enjoy this story, please consider supporting me as a writer by signing up to become a Medium member. Only $5 a month for unlimited access to stories on Medium. Full disclosure: I’ll earn a commission if you sign up with my link.

More from the author:

--

--

Aloha Zen
Writers’ Blokke

Multi-passionate with a goal to live a zen life on a veg farm with horses.