How to be a Father at 20

Here’s how to do it, I have it all laid out.

Gabe Hunt
Writers’ Blokke
3 min readDec 7, 2021

--

Photo by Heike Mintel on Unsplash

Okay… I don’t have the answers.

Sorry, but if I did, I would be doing a lot better than I am right now.

A scared, frightened, and less responsible person than I’d like to be, I see life laid out on many spectrums as to where it can go.

I have the potential to be a very good father, one who provides all sorts of fun cool, exciting, brain-firing activities for my son.

Sea of Opportunities

Many ideas come to mind as to what we could possibly teach such a smart 1-year-old.

He blabbers away, using his pointer finger to be his guide source of language, and makes these cool “hmmmmmm” sounds that really get you to know what he is thinking.

Looking into his eyes sometimes I cry because of the missed opportunities already there has been. Missed spending time with him, to be a better father, and to save up for the future.

These opportunities and cool times pass me by often. No more, I aim to take up the burdens and the responsibilities of the situation.

To uphold the idealistic father values, strong capable, manly, and abundant. The mountaintop is quite high, but with the proper boots, anything is possible.

A lot of questions constantly swirl in my mind, many I don’t have the answer to, some I do.

Many Thoughts

How could this possibly happen? What do I do next?

I don’t possibly have the resources to take care of a child? I don’t want to work hard, I want to relax, I want to play games, I want to be a typical 21 year old, whatever I personally think that means.

Life worked out differently.

Life tells you where you went wrong, and if you choose to fight the monstrous beast that is Fortune, or death, resistance as it can be, the one who watches every move you make, you quickly will be put in your place.

What do you do as a young father?

Confusion

Do I have the time and the energy to maintain the goals I want to achieve? Or will I drift from job to job, endlessly being sucked in by the pleasures that often catch me by surprise?

At first, I did not want to be a dad, I didn’t want the responsibility entailed in keeping another human alive. Especially, when I hardly know what I am doing myself.

I couldn’t believe that I could manage something so anxiety-inducing. At least in my perspective. Anxiety was from not knowing where all of his material needs were going to come from, and financially how it would be over the course of the next decade to the rest of my life would look like.

I was the type of person who would play games all day and night and avoid going outside, only for my closest friends. Being a GREAT dad means prioritizing, loving, and caring for your child.

It is the human-to-human interaction between souls, each teaching the other something different each day.

The ride is quite wild, and I’ll be here to tell you about it.

We can all learn how to be better from each other.

What are you going through? What’s been the biggest thing to help you out in life?

Please, show us the way.

--

--