How To Find and Get Freelancing Clients

What I did, what I tried that didn't work, and what I am doing going forward

Aziz Patrawala
Writers’ Blokke
4 min readNov 28, 2021

--

Photo by Jason Goodman on Unsplash

A couple of weeks ago I acquired my first freelance writing client. It was easier than I expected and was accomplished by doing the simple things. In this article, I am going to briefly tell you how I acquired them, and what you should do to acquire your own clients.

How I got My client

I was on their website as I was looking at their cryptocurrency and researching it. I tapped their blog link to learn more, only to notice there were no articles. I reached out to them and offered my services, and then acquired them as my client.

What I tried first

Like most people I thought Fiverr was great, only to learn that it isn't that great. Like most people I priced my articles so cheap because my strategy was to get reviews and then charge more as I get more reviews. I got one client but earned nothing as I paid an equal amount of money in marketing to get that gig.

Fiverr to me isn't that great, but what is great to me is going b2b or d2c.

The first thing you need to do is read the book the 100million offer by Alex Hormozi. It's a free book so everyone can read it. That book will teach you how to create an offer that people would be stupid to say no to. In it, he also talks about making an offer that lets you play the I can provide more value than you game. This is crucial to learn as you won't make much money charging 15$ an article and writing 10 hours a day.

The book is a sales book, which is important to you as a freelancer as you are the CEO, sales team, marketing team, and every other role in your business. You also cant acquire clients without knowing how to sell, so I definitely recommend you read it. I read the book after getting my 1st client. I am currently using the book to help me create my offer to get more clients.

The next thing you need to do is decide how you're going to market yourself. My choice is going to be cold-emailing/messaging. I chose this because it's free, and all I need is my offer and myself. Feel free to run ads etc, just make sure you know what you're doing. Remember that sales is a numbers game, the more doors you knock on the more potential clients and clients you will get.

Alex Hormozi has a rule I really like, the rule of 100. This rule is basically saying to do 100 of whatever you do every day. If you are running ads, spend $100 a day, if your cold emailing, send 100 emails a day. If your budget doesn't allow you to do that, scale the number down to $10 a day, or any number you can do.

The 3rd thing you are going to do is start doing it/the work to get yourself, clients.

Notice how I never said you need a website. I got my client without one, and I am going to be starting to acquire more clients without one. For most of you, a website will just be an unnecessary cost you don't need. The only reason you should make it is if you don't have Paypal or any other major payment app, as you can then accept credit card payments through your store, or if your customers only want to pay through credit card, or if you are running ads or something where you need somewhere to direct your clients. (When pitching people, put your best work into pdfs, and send it to them.)

The last step is to keep learning, through my learnings I realized, the simple and basic things work. Don't look for fancy things, most successful people do the basic things right, and that's why they scale. I learned that from Alex Hormozi. He doesn't have a big subscriber count on youtube, but I am telling you his content is a literal gold mine. It's all free, so make the most of it.

So now you know what to do to acquire freelance clients, one thing Alex Hormozi says a lot is to listen to the people who are doing what you do better than you. That's why I listen to his advice, and if you don't have any freelance clients, follow my advice as I do, and then follow his advice as that's what I am telling you to do.

Last take away

I don't know how to say it clearly but do the basic things, do them right, and don't expect clients to magically come to you if you don't put yourself out there.

Real last takeaway

I thought there was an actual secret to success, and ignored everyone who told me what I needed to hear but didn't want to hear, I listened to all the people who just told me what I wanted to hear, not what I needed to do. Don't make the same mistake as me, you can if you want, but you will progress slower.

I hope you found this helpful.

Cheers!

Like what you are reading? Consider upgrading and becoming a Medium Member so you can view unlimited stories from me and many other writers. Using the link above to buy your membership provides no extra cost to you and supports me as I get a portion of the membership fee.

--

--

Aziz Patrawala
Writers’ Blokke

Empowering you to have success, but also happiness and fulfillment