How To Increase Your Daily Word Count

Laura Cookson
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
4 min readOct 17, 2021
Photo by Carl Heyerdahl on Unsplash

As someone who writes around a day job, I like to get in as many words as I can in the limited time I have to write. Quantity certainly isn’t everything, but the more words I write, the more practice I get, and the more progress I make with my projects.

I’ve been experimenting recently with increasing the amount of words I get in on a day-to-day basis, and I’ve found two factors that have made a measurable difference: finding more time to write, and maximising the time I spend writing.

So let’s talk about finding time first:

How To Find More Time To Write

Wake up earlier.

This tip won’t suit everyone.

For example, if you have a job that starts at 5am, you’re unlikely to want to get up even earlier than you already have to. Similarly, if you have a hectic morning schedule (if you have kids to get ready for school, for example) then this might not suit your lifestyle, or if you already know that early morning is not a very creative time for you.

But if you can start getting up earlier, then it’s a great way to find more time in your day to write, and it’s very satisfying going about your day, knowing you’ve already been productive.

Sync your writing project to your phone.

One way I’ve found more time to write is by using small pockets in my day that I’d otherwise waste to write. Using my phone, I can now write whilst I’m waiting for appointments, on my break at work, or waiting for a friend. Five minutes here and there might not seem like much, but it’ll definitely increase your daily word count, even if it’s only by a tiny margin.

Write instead of watching TV or scrolling on social media.

Watching TV can be relaxing after a long day at work, and I’m not saying to cut it out completely. But most people watch over an hour of TV every day, and so by replacing that one hour with an hour of writing, you could increase your writing output significantly.

Similarly, a lot of us waste so much time mindlessly scrolling on our phone when we could use the time to be productive instead. You could even write on your phone during the time you would usually sit on the coach flicking through Instagram, so it doesn’t involve too much of a change in routine!

Schedule your writing time.

Sometimes finding more time to write is just about putting it into your schedule. If you just make vague plans with yourself to get some writing in somewhere during the day, it’s very easy to never get around to it. But if you look ahead at your day, or even your week or month and schedule in proper writing time, you’re less likely to skip it.

How To Maximise Your Writing Time

Now you’ve found time to write, you need to make the most of it, so here are a few ways you can maximise your writing time:

Do timed writing sprints.

If I sit down to write for an undefined amount of time, I often find myself staring off into space, going back and forth to the kitchen for snacks, tidying my desk and just generally procrastinating. So to force myself to write, I’ve started setting a timer during my writing sessions, and whilst the timer is going, I try to keep typing without stopping. This has massively improved my writing output, as I’m now getting more words done in less time!

Create a writing routine or ritual.

One of the best ways to have a productive writing session is to be in the mood to write, but this isn’t something that’s going to come naturally every time. However, it is possible to create shortcuts in your mind to get you in the mood to write, by creating a writing routine or ritual.

Perhaps you always sit in the same place, or burn the same candle, or listen to the same playlist… Whatever it is, if you do the same thing each time your mind will gradually start to associate whatever your ritual is with the act of writing itself, and you’ll find it easier to get into the zone.

Be prepared.

One of the most common reasons I used to procrastinate writing was because I wasn’t sure what I was going to write next. I’m still not much of a big picture outliner, but now whenever I finish a writing session I make a few notes about what could happen next so that when I return to the project, I have some idea on how to get started.

A little preparation goes a long way, even if it’s just daydreaming about your story and what could happen next on the way home from work! Anything that gets you into the story quicker is going to have a big impact on your productivity.

Eliminate distractions.

The modern world is full of distractions that will try to tear your attention away from your writing, so to stay productive, it’s important to eliminate those distractions before they even begin.

Whether it’s telling your family you need to be left alone during your writing time, using an app to block your web/social media access, or just finding somewhere quiet to write, it’ll make the world of difference!

This recipe of more writing time + better writing time is a surefire way to increase your daily word count, and make more progress on your writing projects. Getting a higher daily word count isn’t everything, but the best way to grow as a writer is simply to write more, so there are definitely benefits to increasing your writing output.

--

--

Laura Cookson
Writers’ Blokke

Writes about writing, reading, creativity and being an introvert.