James Frank Sanders
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
2 min readJun 10, 2021

--

Photo by Markus Winkler on Unsplash

I just checked my stats. It confirmed what I wanted them to be.

I am a writer.

I like the sound of it. Writer, Writer, Writer. No one can take it from me because I get paid for my work. I am a professional Writer.

Sure, the individual amounts are not large. My biggest hit netted me $1.00. Does it matter? Not a bit. My income comes from other sources.

My careful accumulation of money over long years of boring labor has paid off. Now I am free to write and dream. At age 95 I have broken through.

I did not find a photo of my old KMM Royal on which I learned to type. I wanted to feature it on top of my success story. It does not matter much. Just a whim.

One writer in Medium said, “Don’t look at your stats”. That writer has a point, but that point is not for me. I will look at them daily, confirming my status as a professional.

A guy riding up on the elevator with me looked at me and said, “I know your name from somewhere?” I jumped at the opportunity. I said “Perhaps your read one of my pieces. I am a professional writer you know’’. He did not know, but now he does.

Holy Moley my conceit is running away with me. Love it. I have been standing in the shadows too long. Now I bask in the full key light of down stage of authorship.

Yes, I even published a book.

If your story is analogous to mine. Give writing a try. It will change your attitude toward yourself for the better.

Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

--

--

James Frank Sanders
Writers’ Blokke

97-year-old Jim Sanders chronicles life as a senior citizen. He has lived a long time and has stories to tell.