I Know He’s Coming Back

And I’ll wait right here until he does

Darryl Brooks
Writers’ Blokke

--

One day, a long time ago, I was a brand new truck.

Someone’s pride and joy.

Then one day, he parked me here and said he’d be right back. I didn’t know where he had to go that he couldn’t take me.

I still remember the day he came and rescued me from The Lot. I had been on The Lot for a year. I don’t know where I was before that, but I didn’t think I’d ever leave. Big Steve, the man that owned The Lot, would bring people by to see me, but then he’d always steer them away.

“You don’t want that Mack Jr.; take a look at this REO Speedwagon,” and off they’d go. I guess my daddy was Mack Sr., but I don’t remember him.

Sometimes Big Steve would come sit on my fender, reading a Superman comic book, mumbling about something called a ‘New Deal’ from someday named, ‘That Damn FDR.’ But when the people came to look at new trucks, he just ignored me.

Then one day the man came. When he saw me, he bust out in a big old grin and said, “That there’s the one for me.”

Him and Big Steve argued for a spell, but in the end, they traded some papers, and the man drove me away from The Lot, and I never went back.

--

--

Darryl Brooks
Writers’ Blokke

Photographer & Writer-I shoot what I see-I write what I feel. Top writer in Photography, Art, Creativity, Productivity, Self Improvement, Business, Life Lessons