My Indian Mother

If My (Indian) Mother Heard People Paid $5 For My Free Products

“What!?”

Lipika Sahu
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
2 min readJun 10, 2022

--

My mom with my daughter (showing her a squirrel)

A little background first.

I connect with a lot of writers — mostly beginners. And they express their problems which I see are common to others too.

So, I created a couple of products to help them out.

They are all free.

But, some generous people have paid small amounts as a gesture.

Mom: What!? People PAID for something that was free!!??

Me: Yesss….

Mom: Who does that? Are they mad? Where are these people from?

Me: All across…US, UK, Japan…everywhere. Writers live all around the globe, Ma. (a hint of gibe)

Mom: Ahh, THAT you tell. Not Indians (with pride). We will never do such things. We will buy an elephant if it is for free!

(Suddenly a frown appears.)

“Lipi, but tell me one thing. You don’t pay for things that are free, right?”

(A cloud of doom starts emerging from behind, questioning her entire parenting method.)

Me: No, Ma…(hesitantly)

Mom: Good. We Indians reuse our used toothbrushes for three different purposes before we discard the same. Arey baba, I am not getting this.

In India, people will book you in an asylum if they hear it (laughs at her own joke).

Me: But Ma, they see some value in it and want to appreciate the effort.

Mom: Acha, so, you did not see any value in your products? Why did you plan to give it away for free?

(Indian mothers are the best persons to have on your side if you are in an argument because theirs’ are irrefutable!)

So, tomorrow you see a flower in a garden, you find it beautiful. You pluck it. Will you keep a coin there because you saw value in it? No, na?

‘Value.’

Hmph.

(Walks off.)

The objective behind writing this story was twofold —

I wanted to write something funny, and scratch my (humor) itch,

and also to thank people who have shown their appreciation.

(Hearts)

Money is surely an incentive, but the response is also overwhelming. I bask in your love and warmth. Keep that coming.

N.B: Well, the actual conversation was way too short; she was extremely happy. And my mom is a sweetie.

Another one, if you liked this:

--

--