WRITING TIP

If You Want More Writing Ideas, Jot Down Situations

This practice will flex your creativity muscle and make you a better storyteller

Paul Ryburn, M.Sc.
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
6 min readDec 23, 2021

--

Female writer taking notes on situations on a notepad
Photo by JESHOOTS.com on StockSnap

Many successful writers keep a way of jotting down notes at all times. You never know where inspiration is going to hit you. It could come while you’re brushing your teeth. It could come as you’re walking down the street. You don’t want those valuable story and article ideas to get away!

I use Evernote, synced on all my devices, to capture writing ideas I want to come back to later. Other writers use Apple Notes or Notion. You can even purchase a waterproof notepad so you don’t lose all those juicy topic ideas that come to you while you’re in the shower.

However, I recently discovered a trick that goes beyond just jotting down potential topics — and I wanted to share it, so maybe it will boost your creativity in the way it has boosted mine.

Why I created a new note in my notes app

You know how your mind tends to wander? When you flashback to a time in your past when some event happened, an event that elicited a strong reaction, strong emotion inside of you?

--

--

Paul Ryburn, M.Sc.
Writers’ Blokke

I write about writing, ideas, creativity, homelessness, intuition, spirituality, life lessons. Ex-college teacher Twitter: @paulryburn