I’m a man, a different kind of man

Let's be honest sometimes we feel anxiety about this.

eatwithadog
Writers’ Blokke
4 min readJan 15, 2022

--

First of all, I don’t want to attack or insult anyone. This is solely my opinion, if you don’t like some of my words, you can leave a comment about it, and maybe, just maybe I will consider it and change it.

Photo by iam_os on Unsplash

When I was driving my car today and I was stuck in the traffic, there was a random thought that come to my mind.

What is a man?

What makes you a man?

Who is a man?

I know this sounds absurd but this simple thought made me wonder for hours and it’s making me uncomfortable. I just take a look at google and I found that to become a man you must have these certain qualities:
Strength
Courage
Masculinity
Achievement
etc

Photo by Xenia Bogarova on Unsplash

It looks like somehow, we portray man as someone who can do anything and do extraordinary things. It comes to my mind why? Why should we have that kind of thinking?

If our family is in danger, why a father should be the one who stayed in the frontline protecting his family and not a mother. I think it’s because male is stronger than female in the physique and in the old times, people were lacking technology and still depend on their physique.

A male with a big body will have the advantage of doing anything and a female need that kind of male. Even though the technology is already more advanced this day, female tends to like a big guy because they feel safe and do not worry about anything.

Photo by Joanna Nix-Walkup on Unsplash

How about a feminine male then? are they a man or just a guy with a skirt? I once read the news about some guy who dresses like a girl and standing on the street trying to sell his body or mouth just for money. They did it because they want to give food to their family. They already know it was wrong but they didn’t have any choice, I think faith is cruel, isn’t it? Or are they just lazy for trying to find a job? I don’t know. But still, they were responsible to their family and I think no matter who you are if you are responsible to your family or your ideal then you are a man.

I also found on google that a man is a male who is independent and can do everything. What’s an independent person even mean? are you doing everything by yourself? If you have a tooth problem, are you gonna fix it yourself? if not, then you are dependent on other people, and thas’s make you still dependent on other people. “Well, that’s not what it means”, what’s not what it means? oh, did you mean you pay your own bills, your things, and doesn’t allow people to affect your stability or self-confidence? Then you should be more specific about it, isn’t it? Is it about finance, mental, or what? We all need each other and that’s a fact, don’t let your ego consume you.

Photo by Bob Fisher on Unsplash

You see when I was in high school, I had a friend who is very fat. But, he can outmatch everyone at running…. I know someone as well who has more fat than any people but still can do split and is very flexible. There’s nothing wrong with being fat, you don't have to look fit just to live your life. But, it is wrong if you can’t use your body properly (except if you are disabled or have an injury :D). I mean, if you’re walking from a small distance and you feel exhausted, well that’s messed up bro, you need to do some exercise.

For all of my thoughts, I think as a man we don’t need to have a big body or great talents. We don’t even need much money or achievement just to be acknowledged as a man. We’re all men, we do whatever it takes to protect something precious to us. Whether it’s our values, goods, or family. It’s all the same thing, isn’t it? We will sacrifice our life for it because

I am a man, but a different kind of man.

--

--

eatwithadog
Writers’ Blokke

just a person who has many random things running inside my head and it make my head hurts so much. So, I think I just want to write it just to forget it. LOL