I’m Writing a Book!

Maybe you should too.

Laura Silverstein, LCSW
Writers’ Blokke

--

Image by expresswriters from Pixabay

I love it when people tell me what to do.

I miss the days when I was a student, and my teachers told me exactly what their expectations were. I didn’t always get straight A’s, but I knew what I needed to do if I wanted to.

So now that I have to find my own teachers, I use Medium to find people to tell me what to do. The writers on here are top-notch, and it’s beginning to replace Google for me when I’m looking for advice.

So a month ago, I type the following query into the subject line as if it was a magic 8 ball:

“Should I self-publish a book?”

I arrived at this article by Tucker Max, and voila, I found my mentor (even though he doesn’t know I exist). He explains things very clearly and breaks each step down into bite-sized, manageable pieces.

I’m only three weeks into my book-writing journey, but it is an exhilarating experience that I highly recommend. I imagine I won’t stay in this honeymoon phase forever, so I thought I’d quickly write about it now before I lose my mojo. (I mean in case I lose my mojo :)

Choosing a Topic

For me, choosing a topic was pretty easy because I knew why I wanted to write a book.

--

--

Laura Silverstein, LCSW
Writers’ Blokke

Career couples therapist turned published author! Check out Love Is an Action Verb, a DIY relationship self-help book: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09QLFBRVR