In Writing, Be the Tortoise, Not the Hare

I started writing again on February 2018. This is my story and I’m sticking to it

Carol Lennox. LPC, M.Ed.
Writers’ Blokke

--

Photo by Luca Ambrosi on Unsplash

I’ve squeezed a year of writing into three years. Yes, you read that right. The beginning of my journey on Medium was more of a gentle saunter than a sprint.

I found the Medium platform through The Angry Therapist. I don’t remember how I found John Kim, but you can find him here. He is most definitely worth reading and following.

He inspired me to be more clearly myself. First as a therapist, and then in reclaiming my identity as a writer.

My first story on Medium was “What the F Do I Do Now?” Sounds like it has to do with starting writing again, huh? Not exactly.

I’d spent months reading the top writers, especially the funny ones. My goal was to write vulnerable, funny personal stories. As Joe Duncan points out often, vulnerablity leads to success here and in real life. Humor is the topping on the ice cream sundae of vulnerability. I found my comedy voice, and was so ready to push off from the starting line and regale the online reading world with my humor.

Then, #metoo happened, and I realized I had a lot to say about being female in the workplace, dating, and life. I had stories from other women, plus stories…

--

--

Carol Lennox. LPC, M.Ed.
Writers’ Blokke

Psychotherapist sharing new choices. Leans far Left. Mindfulness practitioner before it was cool. LPC, M.Ed. Helping you make a difference every day