Introducing Cookbook 101

Sharing my favorite recipes with the world(Pancakes)

Zahra Rauf
Writers’ Blokke
3 min readDec 14, 2021

--

Photo by Calum Lewis on Unsplash

The meaning of Breakfast is Pancakes, for me. I love making pancakes for me and my brothers and my nephews like everyday and they are always so delicious. I top my pancakes with Nutella and to be honest, it is fattening me up a bit, But who cares. PANCAKES SUPREMACY.

So I found this recipes on google as well and it literally caters to my needs like I am running out of baking powder, so it has detailed instructions on how to substitute it, while keeping the pancakes fluffy.

Easy Fluffy Pancakes from Scratch

  • PREP 10mins
  • COOK 20mins
  • TOTAL 30mins

These pancakes are light and fluffy and made entirely from scratch. They’re not too sweet and are scented with vanilla, making them extra delicious. These are easy to adapt — try adding a handful of berries, nuts, or chocolate to the batter.

*We call for unsalted butter in the recipe. You can use salted butter, but you may want to reduce the amount of salt used.

Makes 4 servings, 2 pancakes each.

YOU WILL NEED

1 ½ cups (195 grams) all-purpose flour, see tips below for how to measure flour

2 tablespoons sugar

1 tablespoon aluminum-free baking powder, see notes for substituting baking soda

1/2 teaspoon of fine sea or table salt or 3/4 teaspoon kosher salt

1 ¼ cups (295 ml) milk, dairy or non-dairy

1 large egg

4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted, plus more for skillet

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

DIRECTIONS

  • MAKE BATTER
  • COOK PANCAKES

TIPS

  • Measuring the flour: Measuring flour incorrectly can cause this recipe to fail. Either measure by weight (grams) or to fill your measuring cup, fluff up the flour in your canister or bag, and then spoon the flour into the measuring cup. When the cup is full, use something flat (like a butter knife) to scrape the excess flour off of the top of the measuring cup.
  • Baking powder: For the fluffiest pancakes, use baking powder. We use quite a bit to achieve that fluffy middle (I know it seems like a lot, but trust us). I buy aluminum-free baking powder (Rumford and Bob’s Red Mill are examples) since they prevent that tinny flavor that can appear when baking powder is used in higher quantities (like in this recipe).
  • Substitute for baking powder: To use baking soda instead of baking powder, you will need to swap the milk for sour milk or buttermilk and use 3/4 teaspoon of baking soda. If you do not have buttermilk, you can make homemade buttermilk or “sour milk” by stirring 1 tablespoon of lemon juice or vinegar into the 1 ¼ cups of milk called for in the recipe and setting it aside for 10 minutes. The addition of sour milk is required because, unlike baking powder, baking soda needs acid to work in the recipe. If you go with the baking soda/sour milk combination, the pancakes will be just as fluffy as the original recipe.
  • https://www.inspiredtaste.net/24593/essential-pancake-recipe/#itr-recipe-24593

I am sure many of you cannot wait for the next day to try out these super amazing and delicious pancakes. So, here’s the deal, If the pancakes turn out good you follow me and give me a shoutout(been struggling to get 100 followers). So, how’s it?

--

--

Zahra Rauf
Writers’ Blokke

Content writer, book worm, swimmer and i raise my mug of hot cocoa to all of you