I’ve Written 600 Articles on Medium. This Is What I’ve Learned.

Five things I want every Medium writer to know.

Benya Clark
Writers’ Blokke

--

Photo by Patrick Tomasso on Unsplash

I recently wrote my 600th post on Medium. It’s a truly staggering number, but I reached it slowly and steadily, over the course of two and a half years.

In that time, I’ve seen Medium rapidly change and grow, and I’ve changed and grown with it.

Persistence Is Key

The single most important lesson that I’ve learned about success on Medium is that persistence is everything. I didn’t write 600 posts all at once. I joined Medium in 2018, and have written consistently here ever since.

Some new writers blow up overnight, but that’s the exception, not the rule. The vast majority of successful writers on Medium take a long time to get there.

My first post tanked. I could count the readers on one hand. My second post did better, reaching a few dozen readers. Since then, I’ve gradually done better and better (albeit with plenty of dips along the way).

It wasn’t until last year that my posts started really taking off, reaching tens of thousands of readers.

Growth is Exponential

--

--

Benya Clark
Writers’ Blokke

I’m a lawyer turned writer from North Carolina. I write about sobriety, mental health, and more. Subscribe to my weekly newsletter at exploringsobriety.com.